Yet I Am Holding On!

It has been a whirlwind of emotions for me over the past several days. One of my dearest childhood friends made her transition to the Ancestral Realm on Thursday afternoon. Kittie Lynn Dunn Thomas will truly be missed. Kittie and I became friends as infants!

We laughed about the picture that was taken at a play my Momma was directing for her students. We both were little toddlers, dressed to the nines, and we were watching each other and laughing as my Grandma and her Momma held each of us collectively. She would tease me that she was 6 months older.

Over the years, we shared a lot of adventures. When our high schools in the county merged, we really got to hang out! I enjoyed all the good times we shared. We were actually together on our senior float for homecoming. We participated in the South District Youth Program and the Junior Pansy Social Club as young women growing up.

When it came time to go to college, she chose my Momma’s Alma Mater Kentucky State University in Frankfort and I chose Georgetown College, Georgetown, KY. Little did we realize then just how close our campuses were until I met some now dear Sorority Sisters who were going to run home to Frankfort!

We laughed about how that discovery changed the game! My new girlfriends from Georgetown, met up with Kittie, Marta, and Marsha and had such fun at KSU! We shared so many amazing adventures! Kittie was a bridesmaid in my wedding to Albert.

Kittie and I have been through the loss of our parents. We grieved the loss of her baby daughter. We laughed at the time our mischievous sons, Hunter and Peter, locked her precious Momma Lil out of the house when she was keeping them so we could go out with our husbands.

Later, when I taught school in Danville, I had the pleasure of working with her on community events. She introduced me to other parents in the community. As a club sponsor for Future Business Leaders of America, we were able to offer the students some unique experiences. I was so blessed to partner several times with my Business teachers from Lincoln County High School and their students. Those are times I will always treasure.

When I began working with the National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) and we established a Multicultural Action Committee, Kittie invited me on multiple occasions to do presentations for the Senior Citizens Center where she was the Director. I will always be appreciative of those opportunities that helped shape the trajectory of healing not only for me but hopefully others as those conversations were so rich.

Last week was tough! Wednesday was my wedding anniversary. It has been 42 years since we exchanged vows. Albert transitioned four years ago. I thought about the beautiful day we had together with those we loved. I kept remembering and seeing us all getting ready for pictures in the living room. Little did we know then that my amazing Daddy would be gone two days later!

I had an opportunity to stop by the hospital two weeks ago and see Kittie. I felt such deep sorrow as I witnessed first hand how gravely ill she was from her second stroke. It was a few days later that she was taken back to ICU.

I dedicated my training on Thursday night to Kittie. I lit a candle and thanked her for being one of the first people to believe in the work I was doing with NAMI. Although I wasn’t able to let her know in person just how special and important she was to me, I feel in my heart that she knows.

On Saturday, we had our first Sharing Hope Community Conversation around mental health at God’s Glory Church in Cincinnati. It was a blessing to dedicate that event to Kittie as well as the other Ancestors who have inspired my life. I was able to share the technique of Jin Shin Jyutsu, a Breathe and Receive practice that I learned while supporting my dear friend Terri Hall while she was battling brain cancer.

One important thing that Kittie and I talked about in February during what would be our last conversation; was the importance of taking care of ourselves. As women, we must take time for self-care! It didn’t seem to me that Kittie had was doing that. She admitted that since her first stroke in September that she had been unable to write and she needed a brace for her leg to help steady herself.

I reminded her that with diabetes, it would be harder to heal if her numbers stayed elevated. She had to rest more and not try to take care of others. They would be here and we would be singing Nearer My God To Thee over her. She was a breast cancer survivor! She was always helping out in her community. She was a Coast Guard Veteran. She told me that it was getting harder for her to remember things. She was getting turned around somewhat while driving to familiar places.

When I got the news that my precious friend had gotten her wings, I was in disbelief. I had held out hope that she would pull through, yet it would be a long healing process. Now, I believe she has a glorified body! I believe the Ancestors welcomed her and she is truly resting now. She truly is healed!

Grief yoga practices have been my friend as a way of moving the pain. I am praying for Kittie’s son, her siblings, and close friends and family. This has been hard for us all.

I have been participating in the Grief Yoga classes with Paul Denniston. Here is a link to a free video with the practice for chair yoga.

https://www.pauldennistontraining.com/elevate-class-video

When someone transitions, it feels like all the others we have loved and miss tend to “pile up” in our thoughts and emotions.

Grief doesn’t end, because love doesn’t die! We continue to love them and keep them in our hearts. I have a t-shirt which says, Talk Helps, but Therapy Heals!

I am listening to my body and it is saying Easy Does It! We have to treat ourselves better. As women, we must take off the cape and remember, YOU ARE NOT WONDER WOMAN! NO ONE CAN TAKE CARE OF YOU, BUT YOU!

Please know that You Matter! You Are Special! You Are Amazing! You Are A Designer’s Original! You Are Loved! You Are Not Alone!

I am fundraising for the NAMIWALKS which is happening on Saturday, May 11, 2024 at Sawyer Point, Cincinnati, OH. All proceeds from the Walk help support the work NAMI offers free of charge to the community. You can use this secured link to make your donation:

You can send money orders or checks made payable to NAMI SWOH to Yolonda Kelsor, 5702 Sierra Park, Suite 1, Cincinnati, OH 45227

(c) (2024) Yolonda Kelsor. All rights reserved.

If you like my content, please consider subscribing to my blog.

About bridges2hope

I am an Ambassador for restoration, recovery, and hope. Circumstances can get us down, but I want to encourage you today. My name is Yolonda L. Kelsor, MS. I am a Kentucky Native who moved to Ohio in June of 2017. I am a proud mother of an adult son and daughter as well as three grand dogs. When forced to retire from a twenty year teaching career due to an injured back and pelvis, depression came in with a vengeance. I attended my first NAMI (National Alliance on Mental Illness) Family to Family class in 2006 and a new journey of healing and recovery began. I am a Recovery Ambassador! I am a volunteer peer leader for NAMI where I lead a number of programs. I train NAMI Sharing Hope Presenters. I write a Word Press blog, Bridges to Hope. I work as a Peer Recovery Supporter. My life motto is Lift Others As I Climb then my living will not be in vain!
This entry was posted in #Grief, Health, Recovery, Hope and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yet I Am Holding On!

  1. Norma McGill says:

    What a beautiful tribute to the life and legacy of Kittie!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment