Happy Heavenly Birthday Gina!

Beloved Gina,

So much has changed since your transition a year ago. Our baby girl has grown by leaps and bounds! Christy is quite a little princess! She loves to wear dresses! Especially the ones that stand out so she can twirl!

She is now potty trained. She loves to wear her underwear! She speaks so plainly. She is counting up a storm! She’s sleeping! She’s covering her mouth when sneezing or coughing! She’s got the proper handwashing technique down pat! But that is what happens when (Nurse) Auntie Destin models and drills it! Not to mention having Doctor Daddy! She’s truly thriving!

Daddy Chris is awesome!! I know it has to be hard not having you there. But he is amazing!! Christy loves Daddy so much. Watching the two of them interact is so precious. Sunday, he was learning about the importance of letting her nails dry with a small fan.

She and her cousin Haylee are becoming best friends! Those girls have so much fun together. It certainly reminds me of you and Destin! It was so special when a cardinal showed up on the back gate right after the girls arrived last Friday. I felt your loving presence and it gave me such peace.

Christy has a great sense of humor developing! They enjoyed the dance competition where her cousin Ryleigh competed and did so well! Christy heard the song Who Let The Dogs Out and immediately I heard her singing, Nana let the dogs out! Then she busted out laughing! We all did!

She loves Ralphie, but the barking from the big doggies is still a challenge for her. Yet we are making progress. Zeke loves the girls but Daisy hears me say, Nana’s girls and since she is one too, that gives pause for her to give me the side eye and the pouty face.

I miss our talks! I miss our video calls! I miss your laughter and your beautiful smile! Sometimes we don’t understand why things happen as they do. But we have to learn to accept the things we cannot change.

We are so thankful you gave us such a beautiful gift by bringing Chris and Christy into our lives. He is truly an amazing person and I have adopted him as a son. He’s so good to Christy. She talks about all the things Daddy does and you can see the genuine love.

We are getting together with Christy as much as schedules allow. We love her so much.

Rest in peace Beloved Gina. You would be 31 today. But you are forever 29!

Love you,

Mama Yondi

Such Precious Memories!!

I am fundraising for the NAMIWALKS which is happening next weekend Saturday, May 11, 2024 at Sawyer Point, Cincinnati, OH. All proceeds from the Walk help support the work NAMI offers free of charge to the community. You can use this secured link to make your donation:

You can send money orders or checks made payable to NAMI SWOH to Yolonda Kelsor, 5702 Sierra Park, Suite 1, Cincinnati, OH 45227

(c) (2024) Yolonda Kelsor. All rights reserved.

If you like my content, please consider subscribing to my blog.

About bridges2hope

I am an Ambassador for restoration, recovery, and hope. Circumstances can get us down, but I want to encourage you today. My name is Yolonda L. Kelsor, MS. I am a Kentucky Native who moved to Ohio in June of 2017. I am a proud mother of an adult son and daughter as well as three grand dogs. When forced to retire from a twenty year teaching career due to an injured back and pelvis, depression came in with a vengeance. I attended my first NAMI (National Alliance on Mental Illness) Family to Family class in 2006 and a new journey of healing and recovery began. I am a Recovery Ambassador! I am a volunteer peer leader for NAMI where I lead a number of programs. I train NAMI Sharing Hope Presenters. I write a Word Press blog, Bridges to Hope. I work as a Peer Recovery Supporter. My life motto is Lift Others As I Climb then my living will not be in vain!
This entry was posted in #Grief, Recovery, Hope and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment