Celebrating!!

I have been leading support groups off and on for the past 18 years. I really like the model that the National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) uses for their support groups! The Connections Support Groups are for individuals diagnosed or dealing with a mental health condition. The Family Support Groups are for the loved ones to get support.

I have facilitated both groups over the years. I enjoy the fact that I can get the support I need anywhere a group is being held, because they all follow the same model and structure.

I was recently chosen to become a State Trainer for NAMI Connections! It took lots of hours online to finish that part of the training before we met online with our trainers for the past 2 days.

I am excited to announce that I am now a NAMI Connections State Trainer! I joined 13 other amazing people from across the country as newly trained Trainers! Doing things in a virtual manner, especially since 2020, has opened doors for people to receive more assistance.

Another NAMI initiative I am blessed to be a part of is Sharing Hope! This is a conversation held in 3 parts that opens the conversation on mental health and wellness in the Black/African Ancestry Community. I was recently hired as a NAMI Sharing Hope Consultant and Trainer! I am so blessed to be a part of the relaunch as I was around when we rolled it out 16 years ago.

I think it’s important to have safe spaces where we are able to talk and connect. There are conversations that are available in other Indigenous Communities.

At a local level, I am excited to be involved in NAMIWALKS for Mental Health For All!

I am fundraising for the NAMIWALKS which is happening on Saturday, May 11, 2024 at Sawyer Point, Cincinnati, OH. All proceeds from the Walk help support the work NAMI offers free of charge to the community. You can use this secured link to make your tax deductible donation:

You can send money orders or checks made payable to NAMI SWOH to Yolonda Kelsor, 5702 Sierra Park, Suite 1, Cincinnati, OH 45227

Happy 7th Birthday Zeke and Daisy! My life is so full because of you!! Dogs truly are a person’s best friends! Always have been! They uplift my spirit when I am sad! They are non-judgmental and listen with unconditional love!

I am taking time to celebrate my journey of Recovery. It has not been easy by any means. But I have learned you can’t give up hope! You have to forgive yourself for past mistakes. You have to stop “shoulding” on yourself! Look at this as learning opportunities!

You cannot let others steal your joy or rob your peace! Time Helps! But Therapy Heals! When we know better, we do better.

Special thanks to my tribe who love and support me!! I truly feel your love especially during the past several days! Please know You Are Not Alone! Never Give Up Hope!!

(c) (2024) Yolonda Kelsor. All rights reserved.

If you like my content, please consider subscribing to my blog.

About bridges2hope

I am an Ambassador for restoration, recovery, and hope. Circumstances can get us down, but I want to encourage you today. My name is Yolonda L. Kelsor, MS. I am a Kentucky Native who moved to Ohio in June of 2017. I am a proud mother of an adult son and daughter as well as three grand dogs. When forced to retire from a twenty year teaching career due to an injured back and pelvis, depression came in with a vengeance. I attended my first NAMI (National Alliance on Mental Illness) Family to Family class in 2006 and a new journey of healing and recovery began. I am a Recovery Ambassador! I am a volunteer peer leader for NAMI where I lead a number of programs. I train NAMI Sharing Hope Presenters. I write a Word Press blog, Bridges to Hope. I work as a Peer Recovery Supporter. My life motto is Lift Others As I Climb then my living will not be in vain!
This entry was posted in Heal The Nation, Health, Lift From The Bottom Up! We Rise Together, Recovery, Hope and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Celebrating!!

  1. Denise Taylor says:

    May God continue to bless you & your endeavors!! God does use people and I know that he’s using you. Congratulations on your role at NAMI!!

    Love you Sistah

    Dee

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cynthia Readus says:

    Yolanda I am so proud of you you are a strong black woman that stealing with an illness that hits almost every American stick with them you are a great asset to that company

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment